Arabic book club

” ‘You have plenty of courage, I am sure,’ answered Oz. ‘All you need is confidence in yourself. There is no living thing that is not afraid when it faces danger. The true courage is in facing danger when you are afraid, and that kind of courage you have in plenty.'” The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Well, since Arabic class has been out for a full month now, and I’ve been hiding away doing research for a majority of the month, I’ve been bemoaning the fact that I’ve lost a decent bit of whatever I had learned in my previous three months here. So, when the opportunity came up and a friend invited me to join an Arabic book club, I jumped on board. The conversation went like this:

Friend: we’re starting a new book this week, do you want to join in?
Me: Yes! Why not?

Then, after I go to pick up my copy of the book yesterday, I realized I had a few important questions I probably should have asked:

– What does this book club entail?
– Do we speak in English or Arabic?
– How much of this am I really going to be able to understand?
– How much of the book am I going to be able to understand?
– How much of the 2 hour book club session (if in Arabic) will I be able to understand?
– Am I going to be able to contribute much?

So having gotten answers to most of these questions (read about 40 pages for this week, yes we speak in Arabic, prepare questions from the book ranging from detail-oriented questions to broad thematic questions) I deduced for myself that I probably will not be able to understand or contribute much to the book club.

But I’ll be damned if that’s going to stop me from attempting to join in! I tried reading the book last night (haha, like 5 pages), and surprisingly was able to get the general gist of the pages I read. I need to clearly get my dictionary out and look up quite a few vocab words, but I figure I might as well try. I’m finding my true courage. I’ll keep you posted on how this goes (both the book club and finding my courage!).

2 responses to “Arabic book club

  1. That’s great you joined a book review club thing .That is great you are branching out and enjoying yourself šŸ™‚

  2. What a great way to challenge yourself! I’m sure it’s really difficult, but also really rewarding.

Leave a Reply

